Search by

BukSU officials receive individual CSC PAG-ASA Awards

MALAYBALAY CITY – Bukidnon State University officials received an award as Regional Winners of the Civil Service Commission Search for Outstanding Public Officials and Employees last September 20, 2022.

Dr. Rene M. Chavez, Associate Professor III, was one of the regional winners for the individual category.

In his early career, Dr. Rene M. Chavez has created instructional mock-ups and modules for the students to learn how to repair a vehicle.

Dr. Chavez has also assembled passenger jeepneys and designed the first aerodynamic passenger jeepney in northern Mindanao. In the year 2008, he invented a gasoline fuel saver called Oxygen 20.

He finished his Doctor of Philosophy in Technology Management (Ph.D.TM) with dissertation entitled โ€œTechnology Management of Autotronics Simulation Model for Car Lighting Systemโ€ at Cebu Technological University, Cebu City.

He is also an Automotive Servicing National Certificate Levels I-II, Driving National Certificate Level II, and Welding National Certificate Level II holder.

In 2020, he won the Special Citation Award for the Alfredo M. Yao (AMY) IP AWARDS 2020 from the Philippine Chamber of Commerce and Industry.

Two of his innovations also received a certificate of distinction as a bronze award from the Filipino Inventorโ€™s Society during the National Inventors Week-Outstanding Philippine Innovation Revolution (NIW-OPHIR) on November 2021.

Dr. Chavez is currently the chairperson of BukSUโ€™s Automotive Technology Department, College of Technologies (COT).

Dr. Lesley C. Lubos, Director for Research and for Botanical Gardens and Herbarium, was also a regional winner for the individual category.

Dr. Lubos has been in the academic service for 27 years and in the administrative service for 21 years.

He completed his Master of Science in Biology and Doctor of Philosophy in Biology at Central Mindanao University.

As of August 18, 2022, Dr. Lubos has achieved 6 h-index and a total of 32 publications and 4 i10-index with a total of 120 citations in the subject of Bryophytes, Biodiversity, Environment, Health, and Social Science Research as cited in Google Scholar.

Accordingly, the h index is a quantitative metric based on analysis of publication data using publications and citations to provide โ€œan estimate of the importance, significance, and broad impact of a scientistโ€™s cumulative research contributionsโ€ while i10-index refers to the number of publications with at least 10 citations.

Dr. Lubos has also authored several books with ISBN and Copyright as well as various scientific/professional refereed journal publications.

The Pag-Ambitay Daw Ag Kauli-an (Share to Heal) Team was the regional winner for group category.

Dr. Joy M. Mirasol, Vice President for Research, Extension, and Innovation, is the Project Leader, together with the Lead Extensionists Dr. Jiemalyn B. Paulican, Ms. Joanne Vivien B. Necosia, Ms. Ana Ninfa B. Caballero and Mr. Retche P. Colegado.

This team pioneered an extension program to adapt to the needs of the new normal. They went beyond the call of duty at the onset of the pandemic to contribute to the governmentโ€™s response to COVID 19.

Share to Heal also won as the Most Development-Oriented FM Program in the 2022 Gandingan Awards on April 2, 2022.

In 2021, the Philippine National Volunteer Service Coordinating Agency (PNVSCA), in cooperation with other government agencies, alos recognized the universityโ€™ extension program as one of the awardees of the Search for Outstanding COVID-19 (SOVV) Volunteers in Northern Mindanao for the group category.

BukSUโ€™s Share to Heal Program is implemented by 45 faculty extensionists across colleges and academic programs.

The Civil Service Commission’s Honor Awards Program honors public servants and employees each year who have demonstrated exceptional work performance.

The purpose of honor award presentations is to encourage and/or motivate government workers to deliver higher-caliber work and become more deeply involved in the public good. Last June 2022, the university submitted nominees for the 2022 Search for Outstanding Government Workers under the Pag-asa Award of the Honor and Awards Program category. Two from the individual category and a group from a faculty department won the award. (Maria Mae Caraqui-an/OP-IPS Intern)

PS: Late Upload

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Share on print
Related Posts

Notice of Hiring – 1 College Librarian

College Librarian I Requirements for Application: Application Letter indicating the position and the office assignment. Attach the following documents to the application letter and send

Educate. Innovate. Lead.
Guidance Counselors
Contact Us
Customer Feedback